With Boatngo, sail with a light spirit ! 

Logo Boatngo

Prepare your boat before summer in 5 steps

Préparation de bateau pour l'été

Share this article

The summer season is fast approaching! Your main concern as a boater is to know if your boat is ready for the season. First and foremost, you should know that if you have taken care to properly winterize your boat beforehand, your work will be much smoother and less painful.

To learn how to achieve perfect winterization, check out our article specifically dedicated here!

Over the course of this article, we will see the 5 CRUCIAL steps for the proper preparation of your boat before the start ofthe summer season. The goal is for you to fully enjoy your vessel with no headaches.

 

Table of contents

External control

It is necessary to check the condition of the hull in order to determine if there is need for a fairing or not (in case of wintering afloat upstream). Remember to check carefully if the gelcoat has not degraded during the months spent in wintering: this may be yellowing of the hull, the presence of impacts or scratches for example. Finally, make sure thefittings, mooring lines and steering system are in good condition.

Engine control 

If you have thought about winterizing your engine beforehand, this step is very quick since you won't need to change the oil. Look for any leaks or corrosion. Then check the various filters and spark plugs and replace them if necessary. Finally, start the engine and run it for 10 minutes while greasing the moving parts.

Onboard equipment control

To begin with, you should check the equipment on board, such as the electronics, the air conditioning system (if the boat is equipped with one), the gas system and the batteries. To do this, make sure that the equipment is watertight, that there are no leaks and that all hoses are well connected. Then, test the proper functioning of the equipment. For example, connect the batteries and check that they do not discharge too quickly.

Security control

Based on your type of sailing and frequency of use, a make sure your vessel has its full safety equipment. If so, as you probably already know, some safety equipment has an expiration date.So pay particular attention to the expiration date of each piece of equipment such as, for example, distress flares or extinguisher. If necessary, make the replacement immediately.

Complete cleaning

Complete cleaning can be a task not easybut it is CRUCIAL for your boat. It is an operation that must be performed with care and precision.You can, of course, if you prefer, use professionals to save you this burdensome work. By neglecting cleaning, you expose your boat to various risks such as mold, repair or maintenance costs. Not to mention how bad your boat will look in the summer sun!

What you need to remember

It may appear futile to put so much importance on preparing your boat before the summer season. Yet this simple 5-step check, is an operation to be followed meticulously, so that you can enjoy a boat with good sailing performance and a proud look... All this, so that YOU can fully enjoy the season, without unpleasant surprises.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get a sneak preview of all our latest tips and exclusives

Discover our other articles

Boatngo-logo-rond-turquoise

Our services

Book these services in a few clicks or by requesting a quote.

Service

The maintenance of your engine throughout the year.

Service

Ensure the best maintenance for your hull & superstructure

Service

Anticipate winter conditions by winterizing your boat

Service

Whatever your problem, we will find the solution.

Service

Boatngo provides all the services related to boating ...

Free call

+33 4 51 45 33 10

Laissez-nous vos coordonnées et nous vous rappelons dans les plus brefs délais.

Boatngo, l'interlocuteur unique pour simplifier la gestion de l'entretien de votre bateau.

Boatngo, l'interlocuteur unique pour simplifier l'entretien de votre bateau

Préparer son bateau avant l'été en 5 étapes

La saison estivale approche à grand pas ! Votre préoccupation principale en tant que plaisancier, est de savoir si votre bateau est prêt pour la saison. Avant toute chose, sachez que si vous avez pris soin d’effectuer correctement votre hivernage en amont, votre travail sera beaucoup plus fluide et bien moins pénible.

Pour apprendre à réaliser un hivernage parfait, découvrez notre article spécialement dédié ici !

Au cours de cet article, nous verrons les 5 étapes CRUCIALES pour la bonne préparation de votre bateau avant le début de la saison estivale. L’objectif, c’est que vous puissiez pleinement profiter de votre navire avec une navigation sans prise de tête.

Table des matières

Le contrôle extérieur

Il est nécessaire de contrôler l’état de la coque afin de déterminer s’il y a besoin d’un carénage ou pas (en cas d’hivernage à flot en amont). Pensez à bien vérifier si le gelcoat ne s’est pas dégradé durant les mois passés en hivernage, cela peut-être un jaunissement de la coque, la présence d’impacts ou de rayures par exemple. Pour finir, assurez-vous du bon état de l’accastillage, des amarres et du système de direction.

Le contrôle du moteur 

Si vous avez pensé à bien hiverner votre moteur en amont, cette étape est très rapide puisque vous n’aurez pas besoin d’effectuer une vidange. Essayez de repérer les éventuelles fuites ou apparitions de corrosion. Vérifiez ensuite les différents filtres et les bougies d’allumage et procédez au remplacement si nécessaire. Enfin, démarrez le moteur et faites-le tourner pendant 10 minutes tout en graissant les pièces en mouvement.

Le contrôle des équipements à bord

Pour commencer, vous devez contrôler les équipements à bord telles que l’électronique, le système de climatisation (si le bateau en est équipé), l’installation de gaz et les batteries. Pour ce faire, assurez-vous d’une bonne étanchéité, qu’il n’y a pas de fuites et que tous les tuyaux sont bien raccordés. Testez ensuite, le bon fonctionnement de ces équipements. Par exemple, branchez les batteries et vérifiez qu’elles ne se déchargent pas trop vite.

Le contrôle de sécurité

En fonction de vos types de navigations, de vos fréquences d’utilisation du bateau etc. Assurez-vous que votre navire a son équipement de sécurité au complet. Si oui, vous le savez sûrement déjà, certains équipements de sécurités ont une date d’expiration. Faite donc particulièrement attention à la date d’expiration de chaque équipement tels que les fusées de détresse ou l’extincteur par exemple. Si nécessaire, faites immédiatement le remplacement.

Le nettoyage complet

Le nettoyage complet peut-être une tâche assez pénible mais elle est CRUCIALE pour votre bateau. C’est une opération qui doit être réalisée avec précaution et précision. Bien évidemment pour vous éviter tout le travail contraignant vous pouvez recourir à des professionnels si vous le préférez. En négligeant le nettoyage, vous exposez votre bateau à différents risques tels que la moisissure, des frais de réparations, d’entretiens etc. Sans compter la mauvaise allure qu’aura votre bateau sous le soleil d’été.

Ce qu'il faut retenir

Il peut paraître futile d’apporter autant d’importance à la préparation de votre bateau avant la saison estivale. Pourtant ce simple contrôle de 5 étapes, est une opération à suivre minutieusement, pour pouvoir profiter d’un bateau avec de bonnes performances de navigation et une fière allure… Tout cela, pour que VOUS puissiez pleinement profiter de la saison, sans mauvaises surprises.

Appel Gratuit

au +33 4 93 53 84 13

ou

Laissez-nous vos coordonnées et nous vous rappelons dans les plus brefs délais.